Skip to content
September 30, 2011 / fionarwbl

Spinning My Little Heart Out

It’s my last two days of official vacation. This is actually stressing me out about not having enough fun on vacation. I guess it’s because this vacation has been less about having fun and more about moving apartments, sorting out paperwork, and other such annoyances. Oh, and injuring my shin. Plus, I am now stressing about my new job that starts on Monday. In general, I should be a happier camper than I am right now.

But there are good things too. My shin splint pain means no running at the moment. I mean, I guess I could run through the pain, but I am a wuss and don’t like running with pain, especially when I have to literally run the race of my life in 5 weeks. So, to make up for my lack of sweating, I decided to go spinning at Flywheel. I’m not a spinner – this was only my second ever time on a bike. I had to get a guy to adjust the bike, and while I was pleased about managing to clip in, I totally failed to unclip at the end of the class. Spinning newbie!

I went to the Flatiron studio on 22nd St. It was absolutely gorgeous. The check-in area is bright and well-lit with fresh fruit (yes, I totally stole an apple afterward) on a table and some sofas to chill out on. There are locks with a digilock system for storing your stuff, and free towels and water. Awesome!

The class was sweaty, tough, and filled with springs and hills. I was doing fine for the first 2/3 of the class, and actually was outpacing the girls on the famous Torqboard, but when we stopped for the arm workout session I completely hit the wall. Like, 100% wall time. I could barely lift the bar! A week ago I took a Core Fusion and a Core Fusion Cardio class back to back. I’m pretty sure I should be able to do some chest press and bicep curls, but no, my whole body just DIED. I started to feel super hot and nauseous, and decided to sit out the next 5 minutes, barely able to move, and literally willing myself to stay in the room. Another five minutes, and we were in our final sprints, which I did manage to push through thanks to an awesome Chasing Cars mashup, and we were done. If I had done the Torqboard I would have ended up in 2nd place for the girls. For a second time spinner, I guess that’s good. For someone who is supposed to run a marathon, the fact that I nearly died during the class does not bode well. At least I don’t have to run the marathon in a room without air-conditioning.

I left the class feeling completely energized and on a complete sweaty high, which I’m sure my fellow subway commuters must have 100% loved. Whatever. I didn’t touch anyone.

 

I got my dinner from another decade. It still tasted good.

I came home and actually cooked a dinner – a very retro steak, mashed potato, and peas dinner. Yum!

Tomorrow I plan on trying out my new local yoga options. Report to come!

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. EmilyValentine / Sep 30 2011 2:11 am

    you can’t steal an apple, they’re free! Like the water, the shoes, the towels…..I love Flywheel, glad you did too!

  2. sheelbeel / Sep 30 2011 2:21 am

    I definitely think you’re making the right decision to not push your shin splints too hard and do other forms of exercise. They need time to heal. And I love your retro dinner! I never thought I’d crave a steak, mashed potatoes and peas but all of a sudden they seem like the perfect comfort food. Maybe followed up with apple pie! Haha mmmmm…

  3. Sam @ Mom At The Barre / Sep 30 2011 3:07 am

    Flywheel is my absolute favorite place to spin. So glad you had a great experience there! Curious which teacher you tried. And welcome to the blog world!

  4. fcitc / Sep 30 2011 2:16 pm

    So glad you enjoyed your first class at Flywheel! Take care of those shins!

Leave a Reply

