Skip to content
October 7, 2011 / fionarwbl

Defeated By Technology

I crumbled. I bought a Garmin. A Forerunner 405. Oh my god. I am defeated.

Let me provide some context. I have been working in technology for the last five years. I’ve never really had any piece of technology that I haven’t been able to figure out the basics from just picking it up and playing with it. Until I met the Garmin Forerunner 405.

I came home from my new job orientation on Tuesday afternoon (another post!) and strapped it on my wrist. I went downstairs, onto the street, and hit training. I had heard about the dreaded “locating satellites” feature, but didn’t think that it could have been as bad as it was. 5 minutes later I was still standing on the street corner. I didn’t have time to wait around for that, so I started running using the app on my iPhone. Another 5 minutes later, and it was still locating satellites. Finally, at the park, I looked down and it looked like it would start recording time.

Now, here is where it gets a bit strange. For some reason, unbeknownst to me, I could only end up on some strange workout where I was supposed to run 3 miles at 9:15 pace. All I wanted was to start and stop! I don’t understand!!! The bezel! The side buttons! The Menu! Beyond confused.

Ok, I thought. I just need to run 10 miles today, and I have my app working (that oh-so-expensive $5 app!), so when I get home and start reading the instructions, I’ll figure it out. So I just ran.

10 miles is a long way for me to run in the afternoon. And it was one of those runs that did seem to take forever. Although my Garmin at some stage helpfully told me it was sunset. Um, thanks? I can see that already. I am outside Garmin! If I was on a treadmill, I wouldn’t need you. This was not the beginning of a beautiful relationship.

I slogged through that 10 miles, and came home, where I tried to study the device. That was when this classic photo was taken.

I promise I look more capable in the office

Ok, so I thought I had figured out a basic run on the Garmin. Not so much. On today’s tempo run, I ended up running with a screen that showed the pace, the distance, but for some reason the time remained blank. Seriously, how hard can this be?

In order news, I started a new job, which I’ll talk about soon. I also have done a couple of runs – a long and easy 10, and a tempo this morning that looked like this:

1.5m – warm up

5m at 8:45 – which ended being 8:32, 8:30, 8:40, 8:32, 8:30

1.5m cooldown

Not a bad run to fit in before work. It was absolutely beautiful to see the sunrise and feel the cool chill in the air.

This weekend I’m running 20. I was supposed to do the Staten Island half, but after the glory and speed of last weekend’s half, I think that this weekend I’ll focus on running long and slow, so making the commute out to Staten Island probably isn’t worth it.

What fun plans do you have for the weekend?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Oct 10 2011 6:48 pm

    I wish you told me you were getting the 405, I would have told you NOT to. Mine barely works anymore and I’ve used it for a year. I hear great things about the 610 though.

Leave a Reply

