Skip to content
January 2, 2012 / fionarwbl

2012 Goals (and some dreams as well)

My first confession is that I am not good at getting goals down on paper. At work, I was supposed to complete my goals within my first 30 days. I’m nearly 90 days in and still haven’t managed to get them signed off yet. I have a lot of goals in my head, but apparently that’s not the same. So, for my own accountability, here are my 2012 goals:

1. Trek the Annapurna Circuit in Nepal.

This is a big one for me and my husband. It’s out last “big trip” for a while. I’ve already done the Everest Base Camp trek, but I’ve heard that this one is even more amazing. We’re thinking September 2012. It takes 21 days, which is a long time off work, and you get to over 5,000m, or 15,000ft in altitude.

2. Do a headstand in yoga.

This is a follow-on goal from 2011. I actually have a whole bunch of yoga poses I’d like to get comfortable with, but this one is truly my nemesis.Other ones on my list are crow pose, side crow,

3. Take more photographs.

Image

Mommy, why am I wearning your hat? Please don't let my friends at the dog park see this.

See how few photographs are on this blog? It’s because I’m terrible at remembering to take photos. Unless they are of Moose. In which case I take a lot.

4. Ensure that running and yoga are not ignored at the expense of my professional life

This goal could also be called “get out of bed earlier and go running biatch”. That’s pretty much the only way that running, yoga, and being a consultant can co-exist. Someone of the wise internet once said “someone busier than you is running right now”, and it’s true: I can make it happen, I just have to motivate myself. What I really want to do is get better at bullying encouraging my friends to come run / chataranga with me as well so I can see my friends more as well.

5. Reduce my NYRR bib time to less than 8min/mile.

I ran a 4m tempo run faster than this a few days ago. I can do this.

6. Run a sub 1:50 half marathon.

This is definitely a stretch goal. My current half marathon PR is 1:56 something.  I am aiming for a sub 1:55 at the Manhattan Half which is in 4 weeks. I’m planning on running the Brooklyn Half, maybe the DC half, and that was really about it for the year, so that doesn’t give me a lot of options for doing this. Watch me spend the last 3 month of the year frantically registering for halfs to kill this.

7. Run with friends.

Running with friends was one of the highlights of last year’s running, and I want to do more of it this year. See goal #4 for ideas further friend / sweat related goals. Oh, and I also meet some of the amazing twitter runners out there. They all inspire me.

8. Run injury free.

I failed last year with a foot injury. This year, I’m trying to train smart, recover, and not fix what ain’t broken.

9. Eat more fruit and veg.

I really should. A diet based on sugar, frozen yogurt and take-out sushi (consultants’ go to late night meal in the office)  is not really a diet at all. More a pre-schooler’s dream.

10. Cook a real meal at least twice a month

Only New Yorkers could have such low cooking aspirations. It shocks me that I used to cook every single night. Like, how did I manage to plan that well? But I did, in my pre-NYC life. And I do love cooking, but it’s a skill that loses its muscle memory if you don’t use it. So I’m setting an attainable goal to push me back into it. And I’ve resubscribed to Bon Appetit to encourage me. Yum.

Dreams

1. Run a sub 4hr marathon.

I’m not even sure if I’m running a marathon in 2012. The Annapurna trek will mean taking 3wks off running from the end of September until mid-October – traditionally the most mileage heavy part of marathon training. It doesn’t mean I cannot run NYC, but it does throw a little wrench in my sub 4hr plans. I ran a 4:12 this year – tantalizingly close and enough to tempt me to think that a sub 4hr is within reach. And maybe I could run a different marathon… But we’ll see.

2. Run a Ragnar or other 24 hour race.

I’m currently obsessed with running a 24hr race with a group of running friends. Of course, finding 11 other people who think that this is a good idea is a bit of a challenge…

Most of my goals here are running related, with some food ones thrown in for good measure. Do you have 2012 goals or resolutions? Wanna share?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thebettylife / Jan 2 2012 4:20 pm

    Loving your list of goals. I can just about manage crows pose, but it is still a tricky one. I am a long way off from a handstand yet!… All the best with 2012, hope it is a good one.
    Betty xxx

    • thebettylife / Jan 2 2012 4:20 pm

      headstand lol… that too!

  2. Kara / Jan 3 2012 1:48 am

    1. I used to have a photo with the saying “someone busier than you is running right now” as the background on my computer! Love it.
    2. Good luck with your halfs! I also want to PR this year but am not quite as fast as you!
    3. I would love to run a Ragner Relay if you are ever looking for friends to run with 🙂

    Love your goals-very inspirational! Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Making My Goals Public « Run Work Breathe Live

Leave a Reply

