Skip to content
March 12, 2012 / fionarwbl

Race Fever!! And a Busy Weekend

I have race fever!! And it feels so good! Between Thursday and Friday I registered for the Nashville Country Music Half, the ING New York City Marathon, and the Boilermaker. I’m extremely excited about all of them for different reasons. I’ve never been to Nashville, and I’m going for a girls’ weekend with my good friend Elena. We’re running and then eating and drinking. A lot. It will be awesome. There might be costumes. I heard about the Boilermaker a couple of weeks ago. Once I heard it finished in a brewery I was sold. I sent out an email to my running buddies, and now there are a group of four of us heading to Utica in July. The race actually sold out this weekend. Utica is apparently is a super fun town, so we’ll make a weekend out of it. Running races with friends and making road trips out of it? Perfect. Finally, I registered for the ING New York City Marathon. I qualified through the 9+1 program, and I have been undecided about whether to run it this year. I finally decided to go ahead and register because when it comes around, I’m sure I’ll want to run it again. I’ll figure out a way to make the training happen.

I'm in. Again. Queensboro Bridge, you will be mine.

 

Now that I’m registered for the Nashville half, I figured I should start some real training. Last weekend, I did run a fun and speedy unofficial half marathon in the Park, but the last couple of months have just been running, rather than training. I used the Runner’s World Smart Coach to put together a training plan. I’ll write more about that later in the week. In the meantime, the plan spat out that I should run 10 miles on Saturday, so that’s what I did. It was a pretty chilly day – probably the last of the year, so I was wrapped up in tights, shorts, tank, winter top, gloves, and headband. See random self portraits below.

Tights and shorts? A good thing for cold butts. Think I wear too much gray?

I listened to This American Life’s show called What Kind of Country which is all about how local governments are dealing with lost revenue and reducing services provided. Fascinating stuff. I’ve said before that I really enjoy listening to podcasts while I do a long run rather than music. I feel like I can take myself out of the run a little bit more than I do with music, in a way that I want to when I’m running long. It becomes more meditative. My splits were pretty consistent, and I ended up with an 8:52 min/mile pace, which was faster than I planned, but I felt good. I’m not sure I would be able to hold that pace for 14 miles or 18 miles or longer. When it comes to marathon training, I’ll be dialing my pace down for long runs for sure. I also saw Ali from Ali on the Run, but got blogger shy and didn’t stop her to say hi. Big regret!

I had the biggest bowl of oatmeal with almond milk, strawberries, banana, and agave to refuel. Still, for the rest of the day, all I wanted to do was nap. No such luxury! Instead, errands in Flatiron that took all afternoon were rewarded with hot chocolate from City Bakery. So, if I was a good blogger, I would have taken a photo before devouring the marshmallow. I did not. So, you will have to make do with this shot from Foodspotting. It tasted as good as it looks.

Words are really unnecessary here.

As good as the City Bakery hot chocolate was, it wasn’t the highlight of my food weekend. That went to an amazing meal at Gramery Tavern. I received a gift card for my birthday, and was finally able to get a Saturday night reservation. We ate in the Dining Room which is the fancier part. The room was so beautiful – like a gorgeous old english inn, with beautiful high ceilings and great art. The food and service was amazing, and was just a perfect night. And look! Personalized dessert!

So pretty! The honey ice cream was pretty amazing too.

 

The fun didn’t stop then. Today we snuck in some culture at the Cindy Sherman exhibit at the MOMA. It was amazing. I had seen a little of her work before while studying art photography in school, so it was great to see an entire retrospective. A great show – very much recommended. We also had time to sneak into the Print / Out exhibition where I got to see one of my favorite artists – Kara Walker.

I saw this piece today. Beautiful.

After that, it was out to Brooklyn for brunch, and a rush back to the city to walk the two pups. One of whom likes to snuggle into into the sofa like this. Does this look comfortable to you? Sharing a bed with two dogs does not lead to much sleep, by the way. They take up a lot of bed space.

I'm not really sure how he got out of this tight spot. But he did.

The weekend finished up with my first ever yoga double header – a Slow Flow class and then my first ever Restorative class. More on that later this week.

How was your weekend? Did you miss that hour of sleep? Get any good run or fitness plans? Or yummy brunches?

Leave a Reply

