Skip to content
March 22, 2012 / fionarwbl

Early Morning Runner Goes Too Fast

Let’s celebrate the first win of Spring: I actually went running before work. Granted, I had a late start today as I didn’t need to leave the apartment until 8.30am, but I’m still very proud of myself. The last couple of months have seen my early morning running commitment take a serious nose-dive, so I’m hoping that the new season, the clocks changing, the warm weather, and the incentive of iced coffee will encourage me to get out of my bed.

Having said that, the coffee cart in Newport didn’t have iced coffee this morning. What is up with that?

This morning was muggy and humid out with a rather unpleasant fog. I wore my arm warmer which was a little enthusiastic and ended up being pretty sweaty by the end of a run. Confession? I love a sweaty workout. Give me a warm summer’s day over a fresh fall one any time. Is there anything better than looking down at your shirt and seeing evidence of your workout? Unfortunately Ali’s I Heart Sweat shirts all sold out before I had a chance to get one, because I would be all over that. Anyway, the arm warmer’s were overkill, and I took one off in the middle of my workout. I didn’t feel like pulling off my armband and garmin, so the other one stayed put. It’s a look, people.

My workout plan said 4M Tempo Run at 8:23. This seems a sensible enough workout, given that 8:20 is around my Half Marathon goal pace. So, why on earth do I feel a need to run until I kill myself on tempo runs, ending up miserable, exhausted, demoralized, hurting, and panting on the verge of self-combustion for 32 minutes, and then feel utter elation when my pace for the 4M is 7:57? Let’s keep in mind that my 4M race pace is 7:47. Is this a normal way to run? Let’s be honest here – does anyone else compete with themselves on their splits and tempos? Like, I ran this in 7:59 last week, I’d damn well better run it at 7:55 this week? No? Just me. Great. Doomed to run too fast and burn myself out.

Unbelievably consistent splits for me. WIN.

Still, it’s the weekend tomorrow! How did that happen? I feel like this whole week blew past without me doing anything but riding the PATH train. Tomorrow I have a cool event with a performance artist at work and a happy hour.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Kara / Mar 23 2012 4:58 pm

    I AM SO INCONSISTENT with my paces!! It’s horrible. Yours look wayyy better than mine 🙂

    I agree – the sweatier the workout, the better!

Leave a Reply

