Skip to content
April 3, 2012 / fionarwbl

Crazy Spring Racing Schedule

I’ve been buying a lot of flights recently; Delta will be giving me minimal miles for maximum time and dollars when I fly with them first to Belfast (Ireland, not ME), then Nashville, then Israel between now and mid-May. As I was putting in all my travel into my calendar, I thought it wouldn’t be a terrible idea to take a look at my race plans and see how it all compares.

And then I started to laugh. Basically, between now and 5/19, I have a race or am out of the country every weekend. Awesome. Actually, kinda yeah, but I am feeling a little overwhelmed about it right now.

First race on the calendar is the NYRR Scotland 10k on April 7th. I am so excited about this race because I lived in Scotland for 9 years so feel a very deep connection to it. I actually like the sound of bagpipes and I’m hoping we get to sing Flower of Scotland at the start of the race. And by we, I mean myself and my husband, who has said he’ll run it with me. I hate 10k’s, especially Central Park 10k’s, but this is the first one I’ve run since the Mini last June, so I might change my mind. I am already planning my outfit. There are glitter headbands.

The next two weekends I’m in Ireland and then on April 28th I’m off to Nashville for the Country Music Half Marathon. A series of firsts here: never travelled for a race, never been to Nashville, never run a Rock and Roll race. There are a couple of other running blogging ladies going, but most importantly, I’m going with my friend Elena which means an awesome weekend of running, drinking, eating, and more drinking. Girlie weekend!!! I haven’t decided if Nashville or Brooklyn are going to be my sub 1:50 half yet. It was going to be Brooklyn, but the new course looks twisty and the course is going to be crowded.

The following weekend is the North Face Endurance Challenge at Bear Mountain. I was really excited when I signed myself and the husband up for this race. I’ve wanted to go trail running for a while, so why not make my debut with a race with signs? The more I think about the logistics, the more I think that this may not happen, or, if it does, my husband and I won’t be running together because we’ll want to bring the pup to Bear Mountain with us. Still, it’s in the calendar, and we’ll definitely get cool t shirts no matter what.

After that, it’s a trip to Israel for my brother-in-law’s wedding. I haven’t been to Israel for a couple of years so it will be awesome to see family and hang out in Jerusalem and Tel Aviv.

Next weekend is my favorite race of the year; the Brooklyn Half Marathon. This year the field s three times as large, and the course has changed. I know a lot of people running this race. I’m flying in from Israel the day before, but the jet lag should work with me. I know that think matter what, I’ll be racing this hard, and then collapsing on the boardwalk before rehydrating with lots of beer.

June has a couple of races on the calendar, like the Front Runners’ Gay Pride and the Women’s Mini 10k that I’m also looking forward to.

What races are on your calendar? Have you ever over-booked yourself?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Apr 3 2012 3:07 pm

    I’ve got quite the race schedule this year too! I’m running the Scotland 10K so maybe I’ll see you? I’m sad they changed the Queens Half to a 10K. I’m still going to run it, but I PRd at that half last year and loved it and hoped to do the same this year. I didn’t sign up for Brooklyn because the commute overwhelmed me, and I’m trying to find a half before September when I’m running the Newport Half in Jersey City!

    • fionarwbl / Apr 3 2012 7:26 pm

      Since I’m a Newport commuter now, maybe I should sign up for that! I’m in Newport now until Jun 30th. I can’t find anything about the Queens Half being turned to a 10k, but I had heard that. Hope to see you at the Scotland 10k – I’m running with my husband. Eek.

      • Dori / Apr 3 2012 8:07 pm

        Yeah, it says it on the NYRR site on their race calendar. Lame.

        I’ll look out for you on Saturday!

        YES please do the Newport Half! You know how easy it is to get here now. And, YAY. Let’s do lunch very soon please.

  2. Laura / Apr 5 2012 4:51 pm

    HOORAY for the Country Music Marathon / Half! We should definitely organize a blogger meetup down there…

Leave a Reply

