Skip to content
April 26, 2012 / fionarwbl

Back to Work. AKA No Running or Blogging About Running

Sorry about my lack of posting recently. Firstly, I was on vacation. Then, my lovely niece made me sick. I haven’t been able to hear anything out of my right ear since last Tuesday. Then, I flew back to the US on Sunday, to come back to a whole bunch of sorting stuff out here, before going back to all kinds of project hell at work. In the week that I went away, everything kind of fell apart, and I’ve been working 12-14 hours a day since to catch up.

Yes, I can hardly breathe.

More importantly, given that I’ve been sick and working like a dog, I have not run at all since last Monday, which is a really, really long time. Especially since I am running the Country Music Half Marathon In Nashville on Saturday. About a month ago I was debating whether this was going to be my PR race. Ha! Now it’s my lucky to survive race. Or my “extended taper” race.

Sometimes this running blog really does talk more about how I haven’t run. I’m sorry for that. I really do like running. I promise.

Aside from the fact that I haven’t run a double digit run since April 1st, I’m really looking forward to this race. Firstly, it’s in Nashville! I’ve never been. I’m extremely excited about Southern food, music, cocktails, vintage stuff, and generally having a good time. I’m going with a good friend, so it’s really a girls’ weekend with a half marathon thrown in.

Secondly, it’s going to be warm. I missed the mini heatwave that New York had a few weeks ago, and I’m ready to feel some sweat. Doing a sweaty race is going to feel awesome; so is sitting outside refueling with Southern breakfasts and bloody marys. Can you tell I’m planning my Nashville trip around food and drink?

Thirdly, I might actually get to meet some running bloggers! Jocelyn, Laura, and Emilia are going to running Nashville too, so I’m hoping we can meet up to compare post-race notes and obsess over splits and paces the way only runners can.

Before then, I have some serious decisions to make. Like, what am I going to wear to run? I have bought a, shock horror, running skirt, but since I’ve never even run a mile in a skirt before, racing a half in one is a little presumptive. Plus, it breaks all those good rules about not wearing something new during a race. So instead, it’s old favorites time, but given I have about 242312 combinations of tanks and shorts I could create, I still might have to spend some time in front of the mirror figuring my favorite Southern city racing combination. Yes, this is what matters.

I’ve never traveled to a race, so I’m bound to make some big decisions. Hopefully, it will not be forgetting my shoes. Everything else, I think I could just about cope with.

Next stop Nashville!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Laura / Apr 26 2012 11:06 pm

    I am SO excited about Nashville! Email me all your contact info so we can meet up. Where are you staying?

    PS I’m wearing a skirt for the race 🙂

Leave a Reply

