Skip to content
May 7, 2012 / fionarwbl

Redemption Running and Far Too Much Fun

I did say in my last post that I would start to make better decisions about things like getting sleep and going to yoga. One step at a time, people. This weekend was far too jam-packed with (mostly) fun to make a pit stop for yoga. I will work on setting my intention this week instead.

My husband’s start-up is launching its product next week, which means he’s got some crazy-ass hours to work. Couple that with a die-hard Hawks fan during play-off week, and you end up with a schedule that sees you running a loop of Central Park at 10.30pm on a Friday night. It was actually one of my favorite runs ever: perfect temperature, no one around, and the two of us running without music so actually catching up on our lives. It was by no means a spectacular performance for me, and my breathing was still more labored than I would have liked in the last third, but I was starting to feel stronger and more like I was running, not fighting to run.

Late night. Lazy legs.

The night went rapidly downhill as we came home to find Moose had something in his eye. We are the most neurotic dog parents ever, so of course took him immediately to the emergency vetinary center. After waiting an hour to be seen, Moose was diagnosed with the oh so scientific “yeah, he did have something in his eye, but he must have blinked it out”. AKA, this was a waste of both time and a large amount of money. Awesome.

If I squeeze my eyes really shut, no beasties can get in

We got home at 2pm and were up again at 7am to take Moose to Central Park like we do every Saturday morning. How is it that I get significantly less sleep on weekends than I do during the week? Ori was working all Saturday, so I spent some time catching up on chores, before going on a 13 mile run. Yes, 12 hours after my 6 mile run from the night before. Sign me up for a Ragnar people, I am ready. I may have mentioned my music-free runs a couple of time recently. They are beginning to get old. I will have to buy a new set of headphones this week. I’m averaging a pair every two months right now between losing them and breaking them. What I really need is to have two pairs – my work headphones which I can carry in my work bag and use for conference calls etc, and then my running headphones. The issue is that I’ve been using one pair for both – hence the trashing and losing.

If you squint past the weirdness that is my phone, you can see that apparently I ran 13 miles in 1:51. This is not true.

Anyway, my iPhone GPS was acting up a little and I don’t honestly think that I ran 13 miles in 1:51, no matter how much I’d like to believe it. I just wasn’t working that hard. I think it was closer to 12 miles, and 9 min / miles. I did where compression socks while running for the first time. I don’t know how much they actually helped though. They felt mostly weird. Either way, I felt reasonably strong while running, especially since I had had just 5hrs sleep and only 12 hours between runs. I made myself run the Harlem Hills on both loops around the Park, and run them “the hard way” too. Running up those hills had me inwardly chanting a mantra: “every step makes you stronger”. The first time around the Hills I felt strong; the second, not at all. But no walking, no quitting, just one step in front of the other. I brought with me half a pack of old and dried out Watermelon flavored GU Chomps. I sometimes run with gels, but chews such as Shot Blocks and Chomps taste so much better. The only issue that I really cannot run and chew them at the same time, so I only use them on training runs when I don’t mind stopping for some water and chewing. Does anyone actually manage to eat these on the run?

Great as I felt when I was running, when I got home, I was absolutely miserable. I drank a chocolate milk, an orange Nuun, lay on the sofa in exhausted, dehydrated, gastro-agony. After 20 minutes of feeling like I’d been hit by a bus, I quit the idea of doing anything else, and went to bed, taking my mucky pup buddy with me. What’s the point of having a dog if you can’t take snuggly naps together?

I woke up and had the most amazing combination of Saturday night activities: watched Mad Men, New Girl, ate Chinese food, and then headed out to the West Village to meet up with friends (all humanitarian types who make my corporate self look bad and so I have to drink more), and drinking until 3.30am. Great fun? Absolutely. Good decision? Maybe not.

We were lucky enough to spend Sunday with the most adorable 8 week old baby. My husband’s broody side came out when he fell asleep on Ori’s chest. He just got this happy blissful “I want to be a Dad” face. All in good time, honey, all in good time … It was so much fun to catch up with friends with big life changes: babies, new homes, new jobs, all while eating pizza and Laboratorio Del Gelato … gelato. And you can hardly complain about not having any sleep around new parents. We also spent the evening with my husband’s colleagues, eating amazing food and drinking too much wine. I looked around the room at 12.30 and realized that everyone else in the room worked with each other, so it would be cool if they came into the office at 10.30. That wasn’t really going to be the case for my 8am conference call. Home time.

Today I’m an exhausted wreck sipping lemonade in a hope to maintain a sugar high until I get home and crash. No judging.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shaya / May 7 2012 5:46 pm

    Man, I love music-free runs! It’s weird, I know. But I’m glad you did the hills, even though you used the wrong mantra 🙂

    • fionarwbl / May 7 2012 6:02 pm

      Help! What’s the right mantra?!?!?!?! I like music-free runs when they are by choice but this is now 3 weeks – I’m getting tired of my thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

