Skip to content
May 14, 2012 / fionarwbl

Taper Time in Israel

I’m currently in Israel for my brother-in-law’s wedding. I’ve been to Israel 5 or 6 times now, so it’s less about seeing sites and more about seeing family and friends. Oh, and dealing with fun things like visas at the US Embassy. If anyone has had to do this before, you’ll know its an experience akin to Waiting for Godot. This morning, my husband went to the embassy in Tel Aviv while I hung out on the beach reading my kindle and eating this:

20120514-194656.jpg

New love: date honey. If anyone can tell me anymore about this delicious sweet goodness, I’d be very grateful. And isn’t the cool handy pack that it came with fantastic? I was quite the happy camper toting this to the beach. I read a Kindle Single called The Long Run which turned out to be less about running and more about being a drug addict. Don’t get me wrong; it was very well written, but the running part went from a 5 miler to running 50 miles, without much talk about that transition. Still, a pleasant enough way to spend a couple of hours on the beach.

This afternoon we went for a run along a loop called The Safat. It is a pretty hill trail run close of Jerusalem where you get good views of the city and the special “secret” bunker that apparently the government would hide in during a nuclear war. It’s a big concrete fake rock-like structure on the side of this hill. And obviously not much of a secret. The trail was a very hilly 8k or 5m. None of us brought watches, but it took us about 45 or 50 mins. The hills were pretty tough, and I walked the last hill which was basically a road into the parking lot.

20120514-200657.jpg

Yes, that does say 11% at the end there. Evil. I don’t know if I’ll have a chance to run again before Brooklyn, but I hope so. I admit that I do not feel that I’m in in peak running strength, but I’ve done all I can do for now. All I can do now is run. Run hard.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kara / May 17 2012 9:36 pm

    Oooh date honey sounds intriguing! And great job on the run-enjoy the time there and have a safe trip back!!

  2. Loren / May 21 2012 2:59 pm

    Did you get the Long Run from my FB page??! 🙂 I read that when I just started again in Italy. Entertaining at least! Not sure I’ll be doing any 50 milers from it anytime soon though.

    • fionarwbl / May 21 2012 3:07 pm

      No, I got it as an Amazon recommendation when I was frantically downloading books to read on my 12 hour, no TV Delta flight. No 50 milers for me. And very jealous that someone can take that many drugs and booze and then run a lot faster than me.

Leave a Reply

