Skip to content
June 25, 2012 / fionarwbl

Summer Fun Bucket List

It’s summer! And to make sure I don’t waste a single minute of it, I’ve made a bucket list. This is also in response to someone who said that I’m too serious here. Maybe that person can also enable some of the summer fun below? Please? You know who you are!

 

Summer Bucket List

 

  1. Vacation! At least a week doing having some outdoors-y fun either in Maine and Vermont, Colorado and New Mexico, or California and Oregon.

    I’ll have them all please.

  2. People’s Pops ice pops have to be had at least once. They are my favorite artisanal (fancy flavored) ice pop people
  3. Beer Garden drinks, preferably on an afternoon with a big group of friends after some form of exercise
  4. Central Park sunbathing – what more can I say? Get rid of my running tan lines, do some epic people watching. Plus, it’s a 10 minute walk from my apartment. We did this this weekend but on Sunday I managed to burn myself some new epic tan lines, so back I go.
  5. Trip to the beach – I can sort of check this off since I went to Rockaway a few weeks ago. But I’d like to add another beach trip if I can.

    Booze. Fruit. Ice. Yum.

  6. Drink a Pimms cup. Summer isn’t summer without Pimms. Any Brit will tell you that.
  7. And a margarita. Preferably on the sidewalk. From a pitcher. With girlfriends.
  8. Weekend hiking trip. It doesn’t really matter where, as long as we hike, preferably up to see something, or to a lake.
  9. Camping. This can be combined with 1 or 8.

    Not sharing. Thanks.

  10. Lobster Rolls. Yum.

    If you get a sunlounger, you do not give it up for the next 4 hours. You just don’t.

  11. High Line. One of my all time favorite summer places. The sun loungers are the best in the city, and the flowers are amazing.
  12. Partake in a grill. I do not own a grill. Nor do I have any grill skills. Therefore, I am best suited as a grill participant. I can make some salsa.
  13. West Village summer wander. I love wandering the neighborhood, preferably drinking an iced coffee or eating something frozen, checking out the stores and doing some serious people watching. This can combine 11.
  14. East Village / Lower East Side summer wander. As above. Exactly. But different hood.

    Yeah, I’ll look that cool and stable.

  15. Stand Up Paddleboarding. Even if I have to try it in the Hudson. Obviously, heading to the Hamptons for a lesson would be preferable, but my lack of driving capabilities can hold me back … I can’t quite figure out how to take the train out either. Surely Urban Girl Squad
  16. Try a new cocktail bar. Just one. Let’s not go crazy here.
5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gas Station Gastronomy / Jun 25 2012 5:53 pm

    I met a German woman visiting California and, after shoving plenty of Vietnamese and Mexican food in her face, I recommended stand up paddle. She tried it and loved it. Good luck with your summer goals!

  2. Dori / Jun 25 2012 6:15 pm

    I am with you for #7 and I can assist for #11 since our building has outdoor grills. Also, a pool, if you want to come work on your tan lines!

    • fionarwbl / Jun 26 2012 12:23 am

      Pool? I’m so there. Newport run along the boardwalk and then cool down.

  3. Laura / Jun 26 2012 3:53 pm

    I’ve been making a summer bucket list too! Count me in for lobster rolls + SUP!

    • fionarwbl / Jun 26 2012 4:43 pm

      Awesome! We could probably cover both off in one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

