Skip to content
June 27, 2012 / fionarwbl

Pride 5M Race Recap, Brooklyn Long Runnning and Epic Refueling

Summer running is damn hard but ultimately rewarding in terms of sheer sweat volume, and it’s especially rewarding when you get to sweat with friends, which I got to do plenty of this week.

 

Black ninja race outfit. All the better for not showing the cups of water I threw over myself.

The 5M Pride Run is one of my favorite races of the year. It’s always got a great energy, and has an unusual route which manages to take in all the hills of the park in just 5 miles – genius. Or rather, sweat-tastic. This year I walked the dogs (yup, Moose had his BFFF Charlie staying with him this weekend) around the park before running the 0.5 miles to the start line. 0.5 miles had me sweating. Great start. So was the iced coffee with cream I drank before the race. Yeah, I kind of regretted that. It was so hot that I didn’t really think I’d be racing this anyway, even if I do have a bit of competitive spirit. So I was pretty chill about this race. Did I have a plan about anything else I wanted to achieve during this race? Nope. Smart? Of course not! So what did I do? Run as fast as I can for 2.5 miles, and then DIE for the rest of the race. A classic race strategy if ever there was one. After half mile of chilling and getting my breath back, I decided to bust it out for the last 2 miles. Well, I mean, bust it out for 80 degrees and serious sweat. Not exactly a glorious time, but I survived for 42:09 minutes, which was exactly the same time I ran this in last year. Weird!

 

Smiley, sweaty people!

More importantly, these girls ran too!!! Races are better with popsicles and friends.

I didn’t spend much time hanging around after the race because I had a noon Refine class. It felt a lot tougher than normal, and I actually stopped during the last triceps circuit and skipped the kettlebells during lunges. That never happens, and I’m blaming the race. I did learn a really cool trip to do during hip flexor stretches. Dropping your tailbone first helps you stretch the hip flexor, getting a better stretch. Awesome.

I had great plans of running over the Brooklyn Bridge and up Flatbush Avenue to meet Shaya and Katie for our Prospect Park 10 miler. I slept in 30 minutes too late, and then the subway was 20 minutes late, and fate conspired against my extra 4 miles. Since I managed to bitch my way through the 10 miles that I actually ran, there is no way I could have struggled over through another 4. Katie and Shaya were awesome and super patient with every time I demanded another water break. Which was like every 10 minutes. I even demanded to stop to take photos of alternative forms of transport. Yes, I am super powered long distance runner. Katie was determined to make me not hate Prospect Park with quite the same passion that I have over the last two years. A hot Sunday with tired legs wasn’t really going to change my mind, unfortunately.

Shaya and I called each other to coordinate our blues. No, we didn’t really.

Actually, to be honest, this run did make me realize that I should try to try to rethink my long run schedule so that I’m not doing Refine Method the day before long runs. The 24980 squats and lunges in Refine make my legs feel like lead weights being dragged through molasses (mix a metaphor much?) on Sunday. Work can make mid-week workouts a challenge, but I should be able to make it to the 7.40pm class on Thursdays, which should free up my weekend for long runs with happy legs

Do you know what does make for a happy long run? Epic refueling afterwards. Or, as normal people call it, eating. Running in Prospect Park means awesome food choices. Check out this amazing sandwich from Zitos. Egg, cheese, asparagus, and prosciutto. Amazing. Heaven in a salty, protein, carb-laden sandwich. Amazing. Although I couldn’t eat the whole thing. And if that wasn’t enough, we followed up with ice cream from Ample Hills Creamery. I got the honey which was rich and delicious, and lemon which cut through the sweetness perfectly.  It’s important to have double breakfasts, even if you only run 10 miles.

 

Oh so good. But huge.

By the time I got back from Brooklyn I was exhausted, and all my tired body wanted to do was go for a nap. However, these two little guys were demanding to be taken outside so that they could, well, sit in the shade and pant. I did dump Moose in the doggie paddling pool twice, but he hopped out straight away. Little guy doesn’t know what’s good for him.  If I could have waded around in cold water, I would, but it’s not cool to share with the dogs.

 

Moose is poised ready to run away in case I grab him for another dunk in the doggie pool.

I did manage to drag myself to yoga at Pure on Sunday afternoon. I was kind of dreading it, and had already decided if the class was too lungetastic I would going to sit in pigeon and child’s pose the entire time. Instead, we got to do pigeon. Twice! And multiple side planks and side plank variations, but in general it was a very slow flow-y class which was just what my poor, pathetic body wanted.

After this weekend’s running and food blow-out, I’m already excited to plan another long run plus food adventure. Recommendations?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Katie Lisa / Jun 27 2012 1:51 pm

    My new plan to make you like Prospect Park is to take you to People’s Pop first, get you sugarfied, and then run, and plan to end at the zoo for sea lion feeding time. I will make you like it!

  2. Kara / Jun 28 2012 1:03 am

    Nice job on the race! Are you running the Queens 10K on Sunday?!

  3. Emilia @ Run for Your Life / Jun 28 2012 3:42 pm

    Nice job on the race! And I love your running shoes, what kind are they?
    Also, your puppies are so cute! 🙂

    • fionarwbl / Jun 28 2012 4:45 pm

      brooks pure cadence. The puppy lying down is mine, the one sitting is his BFFF (Best Furry Friend Forever)

Leave a Reply

