Skip to content
July 18, 2012 / fionarwbl

Brooks PureCadence Review

I decided about a month ago to switch up my shoes. For me, this is a very risky move. Last year I did this and ended up with foot damage (stress fracture? Morton’s Neuroma? Either way, no running for 6 weeks), so I was understandably a little bit nervous about trying out a different shoe. At the same time, I really wanted to see if a new shoe would make me run faster or feel better. I love my Nike LunarGlides for long runs, but was starting to think (imagine?) that they were clunky and heavy for faster workouts.

My feet are a little weird. I have a mild pronation, but a lot of shoes make my arch ache, especially higher support shoes, weirdly enough. My foot problems last year were from using Kinvaras which are minimalist. I knew I didn’t want to go back to full minimalism, but was still interested in a slightly lower heel drop. I finally decided on the Brooks PureCadence.

Brand new box fresh shininess

From the website:

Lean construction fuses with a responsive fit in the PureCadence. For Guidance to Support runners, this shoe delivers more support through smart, streamlined features such as a wider Nav Band that’s locked in to the medial strike pod. A reinforced heel counter secures the foot and the internal PDRB helps prevent overpronation. The PureCadence gives runners who need more stability the chance to experience the feel of a natural foot strike with a lightweight, breathable shoe.

pasty leg view

 

I will only be using these shoes for tempos and speed works, and never for workouts longer than 7-8 miles. I’ve been running in them for a few weeks now, and here are my thoughts:

 

Pros:

  1. They feel amazing on – like walking on a spongy, springy surface, which also translates into a lighter feel when running. I wasn’t expecting this from a minimal shoe
  2. They feel fast. I cannot quantify this for sure, but I do feel as if my legs are turning over quickly in them
  3. They look really cool
  4. I really like the split toe technology. It’s on the sole, not the shoe upper.

 

Cons:

  1. They are hard to get on. It takes me some wriggling and the heel area to get the shoe fitting properly and not bunching down at the heel
  2. They feel quite hot on. Granted, it’s summer, but I noticed that my feet were hot on a couple of runs
  3. I have felt arch pain, particularly while wearing them with my Feetures socks. Those socks aggravate me a little as well, so the combination doesn’t work for me. This led to achy feet the next day which was a bummer.
  4. The tongue slides down towards the side of the shoe.

 

I like these shoes well enough, but the ache in the arches concerns me a little. I bought them from Road Runner Sports precisely for the reason that they allow 90 day returns on used shoes. I’m going to keep running in them for another month before I absolutely make up my mind, but right now they are 85% good shoes as long as I don’t wear them with my Feetures socks. But I couldn’t say that I’m ohmigod in love with them.

Has anyone else had any experiences with the Brooks Pure series?

Leave a Reply

