Skip to content
July 30, 2012 / fionarwbl

Greetings From Texas

Where it is hotter than a furnace. I’m in Texas for a work training retreat where I’ve been since Saturday night. I look out the window across blue skies,  beautiful fields and a running trail, but at 107 at midday, it’s pretty not exactly enticing me outside. I’m here until Wednesday afternoon, which means early morning runs or risking death by melting into a puddle of sweat in front of my colleagues which would be embarrassing. Or, well, I guess, there are treadmills, but I think I’d rather risk death than run on a treadmill.

Last week was my cut-back week, and I may have taken it a little literally. I managed to run a total of 6 miles. Oops. They weren’t even a really good 6 miles. Do not train as I run. After having a great previous week, work really slammed me hard and I spent more time sleeping than running. This blog should be called a “how not to run a marathon”. I am not proud of this; in fact, I’m very disappointed with myself. Not because I think that missing these runs will have an impact on my marathon time, because they probably won’t, but because during my last cut-back week I was able to rekindle my love of running after getting a little bit burned out by tempos and mile repeats. This time, I wasn’t able to do that, because I simply didn’t go do the running thing. Luckily this morning, when my alarm went off at 5.30, all I wanted to do was get out for some miles. Sure, it was a little hot out there, and the 2 mile trail was a little dull, and, my splits and distance weren’t breaking any records, it was still fun and I’ll be back again tomorrow. For a tempo run. Or, as I call it, hell on run. My break will make me ready to dominate those 8:10 paced miles. YIKES.

 

Sweat stop on my run this morning from “the middle of nowhere, TX”

Is anyone freaking out about the end of summer already? Between now and Labor Day I have bachelorette parties, vacations, weekends away, and family visiting. I’m excited for the rest of the summer because all these are really fun things, but with having everything booked makes it feel like I’m already done, whenever we’re only halfway through!

I’m not saying much here. Expect better posts with updates of missed splits and being rescued from the corporate running trail here.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. adamandamanas / Jul 30 2012 11:52 pm

    enjoyed reading your blog, i hope you find time to read ours 🙂

Leave a Reply

