Skip to content
October 3, 2012 / fionarwbl

The Most Eventful Run Ever. Yes, I’m Back At It.

Remember that post where I broke up with running? It was very cleansing and therapeutic. And then I went running.

And it was the most awesome run ever.

For a start, here’s all the things that happened while I ran, in chronological order:

  1. Saw a swim team in their trunks singing Katy Perry
  2. Was passed by Chris Martin from Coldplay
  3. Saw the Dungeons and Dragons reenactment folks joisting and shouting “Thunderbolt!” at each other
  4. Saw an old college friend who I haven’t seen since 2002!
  5. Was passed by Chris Martin from Coldplay
  6. Saw Erica charging past in a neon pink top
  7. Was passed by Chris Martin from Coldplay (he was pretty fast!)
  8. Saw Erica again

This screenshot basically shows that I was running too fast for a slow run for miles 9 and 11, and way faster than MGP for miles 12, 13, and 14. You’re welcome for the analysis.

I ran 16 fun miles (ah 16! What a nice, attainable number compared to 20 or 22!), 11 relatively easy, and 5 at 8:30 (which I thought was MGP, but it turns out MGP is actually 8:35). It was fun to break up the run into attainable sections, rather than counting down 14 miles to go, 12 miles to go etc. I know we all try to do this doing long runs, but it’s hard  to break up the monotony. The last 5 miles were fine apart from the final mile which was a bit of a struggle, but I’m completely guilty of running the first 11 too fast – hi fresh, happy legs! Taking a few days off was obviously A. Good. Thing. To continue my refresh, I went straight from running to Restoratives Yoga, which was legitimately awesome in a mind cleansing, body healing kind of way. Next time, I’ll drop yoga stuff off there first, rather than be in damp shorts. 10 minutes of legs up the wall? Heaven. We even did a supported child’s pose. Did you know you could make child’s pose even more supported?

I also did a mass upload of all my run data from my phones into DailyMile and was struck by this chart:

Not very good with the mouse skills, admittedly.

Does that explain my run meltdown last week? That huge jump in mileage after weeks for 30s and a holiday week? Admittedly, there are runs that are not captured here, especially in weeks 31 – 33 when I was travelling and not using my phone for recording runs, but jumping from 30 miles a week to 40 was probably a bit of a crazy, freak out my running mind, move. Oops. But, luckily, no serious harm done.

Oh, and I ran 8 happy miles before work yesterday. We are back on track people, just in time for PEAK WEEK!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stacy Lazar / Oct 3 2012 2:58 pm

    Wait Chris Martin runs in NYC? Is this something I should be looking out for?

    • fionarwbl / Oct 3 2012 3:18 pm

      It’s the first time I’ve seen him in the park, so no idea if this is a regular thing ….

      • Stacy Lazar / Oct 3 2012 3:19 pm

        wah. still pretty awesome, especially since he’s often blasting through my headphones.

  2. Running Bun / Oct 3 2012 3:32 pm

    AWESOME RUN! Great pace! Is Chris Martin really tall? He looks tall. I’m running 20-22ish with Abby this weekend if you’re interested in joining!? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

