Skip to content
November 19, 2012 / fionarwbl

A Run Free Weekend (There Was Still Running)

The “Run Free” weekend did actually contain running. When I say “Run Free”, I meant, do whatever I felt like. No training plan, no “4 miles at x:xx pace”, no target mileage. No watch. Just turn up and have fun. And it was awesome.

For a start, there’s nothing like a sweat fest at Flywheel, especially a brand new Flywheel studio on the Upper West Side just blocks from where I live. The new studio is gorgeous: the reception space is bright and airy; the locker area has plenty of room and the lockers have digilocks; and there are showers! The class itself was super rock it out, with plenty of sprints, hills, the obligatory arm, shoulders, and triceps workout, and the close your eyes and just pedal finale. Jesse put on an awesome ride and I finished up energized, dripping with sweat, and proud of the effort I had put in. Marathon fail? What marathon fail? It was even more fun seeing Katie, Leticia, and Emily there as well. Sweaty bloggers for the win!

Saturday night was one of those nights where you think that you’ll end up at a bar but instead you drink a ton of wine at home with friends and end up ordering food and debating a last minute dash to 16 handles before deciding you are too drunk to walk 10 blocks to indulge your frozen yoghurt craving. Yes, I am that rock n roll. No really. I’m sure you want to hang out with me now.

I woke up this morning early to cheer on a friend in one of her first races in the park: the NYRR Race To Deliver. Moose and I stood at 79th st and cheered on the runners, but totally missed my friend. Moose actually was not so much cheering on the runners as crying that he wasn’t running, and then lying on the ground sulking. Spaniels are not team players. Anyway, I found my friend at the finish line and we walked back together. I must have been inspired by all the runners because I got dressed in my running gear and headed out for a lap of the park. Okay, not that keen: I skipped the Harlem Hills. I also used a new app during my run: Charity Miles.

I kept forgetting to restart the app when I started running, so I think I cheated someone out of 0.5 of a mosquito net. Next time.

Charity Miles is a free app that empowers you to earn money and raise awareness for charities by walking, running or biking.

Just choose a charity and hit the streets. As you walk, run or bike, the app will measure your distance and you will earn money for your charity: 10¢ per mile for bikers; 25¢ per mile for walkers and runners, all up to our initial $1,000,000 corporate sponsorship pool.

I chose the Global Fund, and raised enough money for 1.5 insecticide-treated bed net. I hadn’t tried out this app before because I also use another running app on my phone to track my miles, and I am pleased to report that you can run both at the same time, so if you are a RunKeeper or iSmoothRun or NikePlus user, you can still use Charity Miles.

Caramel Brule Latte. Excellent post run refuelling option. Especially if you have forgotten money and can only use your starbucks app for purchases.

I also made it back to one of my favorite yoga classes at Pure Yoga: slow flow. I’m surprised I’m not actually shorter, because my muscles were so tight during class that I don’t think I actually straightened my legs once. My core was also crying in pain during the ab sequence, and I managed one chataranga before deciding that fully lowering to the ground were good for me. God help me if I decide to go back to Refine next week. My body will probably full on rebel. It was amazing though to feel my body loosen out and stretch, and all through class I was promising myself to keep coming back to yoga to feel the benefits.
Finally, huge congratulations to all the Philly marathoners and half marathoners this weekend! Apparently it was total PR city out there. Awesome!

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Nov 19 2012 1:44 pm

    Jesse is awesome and the new FlyWheel studio sounds like it’s the best one yet. Jealous of your class! I did make it to UWS on Saturday and Sunday for Refine though. We’ll have to meet up there very soon. Charity Miles sounds like a really cool app. Also, I love the Race to Deliver. It was one of my first races ever and a couple of years later it was my NYRR bib PR for my corral placement. Which will probably expire soon.

    • fionarwbl / Nov 19 2012 2:26 pm

      please let me know when you’re doing UWS Refine and I’ll come along. I will probably die during class though, so no laughing!! does your NYRR bib time expire? My 4m time was set at the 2012 Gridiron, and I probably won’t run a 4m race again until then. And then I probably won’t another NYRR race again… Probably not renewing my membership. Kind of sad. You’re piece of Mary Wittenberg was PHENOMENAL.

      • Dori / Nov 19 2012 4:28 pm

        Thank you! I JUST renewed my membership before the debacle, thinking I wanted to do NYCM next year. But now I am not, obviously. I heard the bib time expires after about 3 years. Anyway, I am signed up for UWS Wed 4:15 (do you get out of work early on Wed?) and Thurs 9:30 am.

Leave a Reply

