Skip to content
December 4, 2012 / fionarwbl

Run Stalking My Favorite Runners and Refine Made Me Hurt More Than The Marathon

It’s been over 5 months since I last popped a squat. Do you think that’s why my whole body gave up during Richmond? Highly likely. I went back on Sunday and (a) it was AWESOME (b) my quads started to burn during the warm up. You know when you’re in trouble when the warm up hurts. Other highlights were the fact that I started to shake during the first 5 seconds of doing a plank, and that I nearly fell over trying to curtsy lunge with a kettlebell. BUT I worked my ass off the whole class and made it to the end without dissolving into a puddle of sweat on my mat. I was hurting while I walked home, I was hurting while I went shopping on Sunday afternoon, and I had to take child’s pose about 15 times during my SLOW FLOW yoga class on Sunday evening. Oh, and while at work I’ve been walking like some sort of wooden puppet and limiting water intake so I don’t have to go to the bathroom. I’ve got to go back. I can’t continue being this much of a strength training wussy.

On Saturday I finally got to meet Laura, who I have twitter and blog stalked for about a year now, ever since I discovered her awesome blog. Laura kind of intimidates me with her ability to set pretty audacious goals (50 marathons, 50 states, all by 25?!), so I was hoping that some of that drive and ambition was contagious. I joined her on the final miles of the Madhattan Run – aka an ultra run around the island – all 32 miles! When I found Laura and Ellie on the West Side Highway they had about 4 miles to go and were extremely cheery. We chit-chatted our way down the west side, and Laura stormed her way into great finish. She barely looked like she had run 3 miles, never mind 32! I am in total awe. We hung out a little at the Tribeca Tap Room (Pear Cider! I’ll be back!), before I headed uptown to attend to dog-walking duties.

I love my dog. Lots. But man, he really splits my day into six hour intervals…

I still haven’t committed to my #redemptionrace plans. Classic indecision here. Having said that, this week marks the resumption of training and long runs. That break was fun while it lasted. Having had my ass, thighs, shoulders, and abs killed in Refine on Sunday (and still hurting today!), it’s clear that I need to spend a lot more time on the whole strength side of training, rather than relying just on running. Only one word for that: ouch.

Have you been trying new things since marathon training wrapped up? Are you thinking of spring training already?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Dec 4 2012 7:54 pm

    I’m glad you had a great Refine class and I’m sorry I had to bail! We will do it again soon. Are you doing their New Years Challenge?

    • fionarwbl / Dec 4 2012 7:55 pm

      Yes, I think I will, but I’m going to wait until January. I’m out of the country from Dec 21st to 31st…

      I am STILL sore, like, can’t get up or sit down sore, from Sunday. I swear this is not normal! I can’t be in pain for two days after every class!!

  2. 50by25laura / Dec 4 2012 10:34 pm

    Thank you thank you THANK YOU for coming out to rn with me! I can’t wait to meet up again soon 🙂 And I’m totally in for a Refine class sometime as well…

  3. Theodora / Dec 10 2012 2:41 am

    1. You want to talk about indecision? Just don’t decide at mile 9 of a marathon you actually want to do the half 🙂
    2. My life is also split into six-hour intervals. The things we do for our pups 🙂

Leave a Reply

