Skip to content
December 13, 2012 / fionarwbl

Two Runs Down, 38 Miles To Go

Two runs this week: one a slog-it-out sweat fest which felt about 300 times harder than the 9:xxs on my watch, and the second a “give it my all” speed work-out which had me close to barfing (but what speed work doesn’t?) but I hit decent, non-depressing times for my intervals. Interestingly, there was a 20F different in temperatures and 50% different in humidity between those workouts: I think that explains the difference. It also makes me wish that all races were run in winter, but then that would mean that Dori would never run.

Repeats I can be proud of

Repeats I can be proud of

I’m running a whole new distance this weekend! I’m running the NYCRUNS Hot Chocolate 5k on Roosevelt Island. There are multiple things to be excited about here: (1) a whole new distance (automatic PR!!!), (2) I’ve never been to Roosevelt Island (it is going to take me 3 trains to get there!), there are a lot of people running that I haven’t seen for a while, and lastly, it is going to be awesome to finish my 5k when lots of other runners have to keep pushing through for 10k 🙂

Puddle splashing on Monday night. I think I actually got mud on my butt.

Puddle splashing on Monday night. I think I actually got mud on my butt.

Ok, so that last point isn’t very mature of me. Whatever. And besides, I’ll turn around and cheer the 10kers. Because running a 10k is a sprint of death.

This weekend is our last weekend in NYC before heading to Ireland for the holidays. Since last weekend was in Miami, it’s also our only Holidays weekend, so I’m planning on hooking up an IV drip filled with various, or all, selections from the Starbucks holiday menu and dragging it around various holiday markets while munching on stollen and demanding Christmas presents, all while wearing entirely too many fair-isle knits, probably mixed with sequins. Ori is going to have the best time.

38 miles before I hit the big 1,000 for the year. That works out at 2.1 a day, or, in scientific terms, rather a lot. Good think I’m semi-marathon training.

What are your weekend plans? Have you bought all your holiday presents yet?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Dec 13 2012 10:14 pm

    HAHAHA. So true about me. You just inspired me to look up tomorrow morning’s weather for the possibility of a run. 34. No chance. I’m jealous of the hot chocolate race! I actually seriously considered it (despite the weather) before I remembered I’m going away this weekend.

  2. Jen / Dec 18 2012 3:41 am

    Love that someone else eats stollen around the holidays! Since my parents lived in Germany for 10 years, we eat stollen every Christmas morning. So good!!

Leave a Reply

