Skip to content
December 19, 2012 / fionarwbl

NYC Runs Hot Chocolate 5K Recap

I’ve felt strange putting up a post after everything that happened in Newtown, CT. I haven’t felt like writing anything for a few days. Like everyone else, I’m immensely saddened by what happened and my thoughts are with the families.

Multiple variations on loops and directions. Gotta keep it somewhat interesting

Multiple variations on loops and directions. Gotta keep it somewhat interesting

I did have a rather running-centric weekend. Even though I still haven’t decided on #redemptionrace, I figure I probably need to train for it, so Saturday morning was spent running 15 sub 9 miles in Central Park. Average pace: 8:37. Ok, so my calves were sore at the end, and the last few miles may have felt like a fully tempo rather than “slow and easy”, but it was a good effort. I did try a new podcast while running – Hello Giggles – which was basically some hipster girls sitting around talking about tea and typewriters. Sucked. Sorry if I offended people who like to talk about knitting and tea. I did vary my route quite a bit since a couple of loops of the park sounded like a forced march. Instead I went one lap counter-clockwise, two laps of the Bridle Path, and then a 5 mile loop going over the harlem hills and the 72nd traverse. I find it so much easier to break up a run into segments, or otherwise the whole thing seems so overwhelming. I also left a water bottle beside the fountain at 86th st, which may have been very trusting, but no one took it, so thanks runners!

Please don't steal me.

Please don’t steal me.

At the end of the run, I ran into a very cheery guy. He said hello, I said hello back. He said “good day for a run”, I said “it sure is”. He then started to walk beside me and told me he created a running app. I kind of rolled my eyes because there are so many running apps out there, and I’m very happy with the one I have. It turned out he created the Charity Miles app. I was so excited, and a little guilty that I wasn’t using it on my run at the moment. Anyway, we talked a bit, and then I headed home for speedy showering to meet friends for lunch. Ori and spent the rest of the afternoon Christmas shopping, including a trip to the Christmas Market at Union Square which I swear used to be better and have delicious food. A little disappointing. We had high, high hope of going out for fancy cocktails on Saturday night, but I guess the lack of sleep the last couple of nights and too much fun caught up with me and I was passed out by 10.30. Yes, I know. Epic fail.

Sunday was my 5k debut. Big day, people. The race was at the very sensible time of 9.30, so I didn’t even have to wake up until 7:15. The temperature said 45F so I thought shorts and a t-shirt for such a short race, and then put on a thicker run top for the trip over. These were terrible decisions. It was definitely crops, if not tights weather, and I could have worn at least one more layer for hanging around the start in. Freezing. The race was at Roosevelt Island which I had never been too but it was surprisingly easy to get to. NYCRUNS races are limited to 500 people, which is awesome. I loved the small size and intimate feel of the races. I also ran into Erica, Jocelyn, and Ashley, and met Meggie, Beth, Jen, and Abby for the first time, so it was awesome.

An audacious race number. No, I did not wear it upside down.

An audacious race number. No, I did not wear it upside down.

The race itself was a loop of island. Having never been, I had no idea about the course or any landmarks along it. As soon as I started I knew my legs were tired from my long run the day before, so I knew I would have a hard time holding onto a solid pace. I tried to get to “uncomfortable but sustainable” and hold it there. 5ks are short, but the miles do not fly, like they sometimes do in 10ks or halfs – you feel every single mile and you feel it hard. The first mile was figuring out my pace, the second mile was trying to pass people (a phenomenal bonus in a small race is that you can target individuals rather than a mass of people, and the last mile was all about holding the hell on. Ugh that last mile sucked. Half a mile from the finish I was ready, more than ready, to be done. Actually, thanks to some rather inept math calculations from me, where I thought that a 5k was 3.2 miles, and not 3.1, I did finish 0.1 miles early than my frantic half mile calculations. Overall time: 23:32, or a pace of 7:35, and 4th place in my age group.

Most importantly, the bagels and hot chocolate afterward were delicious.

Yesterday I made it to Slow Flow yoga at Pure which was divine; every time I go I promise myself I’m going to make a commitment to go mid-week as well as on the weekends. I spy a new goal…

Also! I got into the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler in DC! Is anyone else going?

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Dec 19 2012 5:02 pm

    Congrats on a strong 5K the day after a fast 15 miler!!! You are amazing. And yeah, I could have told you shorts are not OK!

    • fionarwbl / Dec 19 2012 5:36 pm

      Yes, but you would have told me that I was crazy going outside in the cold at all … 🙂

      • Dori / Dec 19 2012 8:32 pm

        I actually ran outside Monday morning! And over the weekend I bought super warm running clothing (might return if I don’t use within 2 weeks). Are you proud?

      • fionarwbl / Dec 19 2012 8:46 pm

        I’m so proud!!

  2. Jen @ Jens Best Life / Dec 19 2012 5:24 pm

    I’m heading to DC for the Cherry Blossom, too! It was great to meet you on Sunday –congrats on your stellar finish! Hope we can run together soon.

    • fionarwbl / Dec 19 2012 5:36 pm

      Yay!! Let’s definitely run together soon 🙂

  3. Katie / Dec 19 2012 5:32 pm

    Congratulations! 4th place in your age group is awesome! I recently was 34th in my age group for a 4 mile race and thought I was pretty cool. Imagine if you had fresh legs!

    • fionarwbl / Dec 19 2012 5:35 pm

      Thanks!! I was pretty pleased with myself! Small races rock!

  4. Stacy Lazar / Dec 21 2012 2:19 pm

    Congrats on finishing 4th! I did the Cherry Blossom last year and it was awesome – one of my favorites.

  5. kilax / Jan 3 2013 11:15 pm

    Awesome 5K after such a long run! I was in town from Chicago for that 5K, to pace my bestie from Queens for a PR 🙂

    • fionarwbl / Jan 3 2013 11:32 pm

      That’s awesome!! I loved that race – such a nice size! Chicago is such a great place!

Leave a Reply

