Skip to content
January 1, 2013 / fionarwbl

2012 Running Recap

Theodora, Steph, and a multitude of others have put together a round up of 2012 running highlights. As my last post of the year, I’ll add mine to the mix.

This post is being written at 35,000 ft from an American Airlines flight without a working tv and in an iPad. For some reason that beyond the realm of Steve Jobs, the Undo button on the iPad is giant and I have now deleted most of this post twice. It may not become dramatically shorter due to my waning attention span.

Updated: this post was written last night but then I had super jet lag and now it’s going up today. Late. Oops.

Smiling, despite all odds

Smiling, despite all odds

1. Best Race
In a year that has been filled with multiple race disasters, I admit that I’ve had a hard time picking one that I had fun with. Nashville was 13.1 miles of hell, but it was in Nashville and with Elena, so that more than made up for it. I learnt a lot at Richmond, and shared it with an awesome cast of girls, so I can’t exactly go hating there. However, the last time I ran fast and free was at the Scotland 10k where I turned up with low expectations and little sleep, and rocked out my best race performance to date. Afterwards I felt like a superhuman, so I’ll go with that one.

Favorite ever running photo

Favorite ever running photo

2. Best Run
Where I haven’t had good races this year, I’ve definitely made up for it in good runs, and I can put this down to the multiple running buddies I have made this year. 16 miles at 5am with Theodora taught me that long runs, early mornings, and full workdays can be done. A 20 miler with Steph introduced me to the GW Bridge and a whole new running path. The early summer long runs with Katie, Shaya, and Loren were all about catching up on gossip and eating as much as possible. But the coveted spot for best run goes to the four Ragnar Relay Napa Valley legs – 32 miles of running through vineyards day and night with a bunch of strangers turned out to be one of the best weekends of 2012.

3. Best Piece of New Gear
Easy: the iPhone 5. Light, fits in my shorts and tights pocket, captures my run data, takes photos, and lets me “check twitter to find people in the park” when I am catching my breath.

Honorable mention: Nike LunarGlide Breathe 3 in Black / Mango. Love this color scheme. Very sad to be retiring them.

4. Best Piece of Running Advice Received
I wish I could remember who this came from, but “run the mile you are in”. I’m still working on stopping my head getting in the way of my body, but this helped a lot.

Shaya and I called each other to coordinate our blues. No, we didn't really.

Favorite running people.

Smiley, sweaty people!

Smiley, sweaty people!

5. Most Inspirational Runners
Ah, so many!!! From Loren who trained for her first marathon this year (and sadly didn’t get to do it), to Katie and Shaya who kicked serious ass during their first marathons, to Laura who someone finds time to run multiple marathons while keeping up with friends and traveling for work. However,r there were three runners and bloggers who inspired me on a regular basis, both through their own hard work and steady improvement in running and with their awesome and highly amusing takes on life. Ali, Jocelyn, and Meggie all make me want to be nicer, funnier, and a faster runner. In that order.

6. My Year In A Few Words
I had a phenomenal year, despite what the race results may tell you. So, inspiring, humbling, awesome, and happy.

7. Most Exciting (Running) Moment of 2012
When I convinced Ori to run a race. However, it was a moment of weakness and will not happen again!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thethinksicanthink / Jan 1 2013 8:43 pm

    You’re too sweet! Best of luck in all of your 2013 running adventures!

  2. Ali / Jan 1 2013 9:38 pm

    Dude! You inspire the crap out of ME. I’m always amazed when I’m on Twitter and see that, at 8 PM, you’re gutsy enough to go do speedwork. You crushed your times throughout your training this year and you WILL get that redemption marathon! Keep running hard — hope to see you soon!

    • fionarwbl / Jan 1 2013 10:20 pm

      Haha – you realize it’s because I have slept through my 5am wake up that I am out at 8pm slogging through speedwork! Hope to see you soon – maybe an early morning bridlepath meetup? 🙂

  3. 50by25laura / Jan 5 2013 12:29 am

    I am inspired by YOU and how you are able to kick butt at Refine while I am quivering and unstable days after. We shall see how this goes 🙂

    • fionarwbl / Jan 5 2013 10:29 pm

      I was behind you at Refine last class, so you couldn’t see me DYING during squats and lunges. I’m scared for tomorrow…

      • 50by25laura / Jan 7 2013 11:56 am

        Yesterday wasn’t quite as bad, I didn’t think! Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

