Skip to content
January 2, 2013 / fionarwbl

That 2013 Resolution Post (and a look back at my 2012 self)

I just looked at my 2012 goals post for the first time I wrote it. I’m probably not cut out for this whole resolution thing. I write them down and then I forget them. Or rather, I do with any goals that I arbitrarily write on the last day of the year. I prefer to evolve my goals throughout the year. A quick review of my goals are that s0me I hit, some I missed, and some I completely forgot about. My bad.

2012 Goals Recap

1. Hike the Annapurna Trail. Big fat fail. Actually, I had completely forgotten about this. We were gung-ho about going, but then we had a couple of real life interruptions like changes in jobs, so no Himalayas for us. All in all though, it was a good year for traveling, with trips to Nashville, Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire, Napa, Richmond, Copenhagen, Israel, and Miami. I was pretty inconsistent about blogging about it, even when it was running related.

2. Do a headstand in yoga. Another fail. This will be on my resolutions list until it becomes a reality, but it will not become a reality unless I actually get my ass to yoga. And not just Slow Flow 1/2.

Puppy and running shoes. What else is there to photograph?

Puppy and running shoes. What else is there to photograph?

3. Take more photographs. I’ll give myself a pass for this. I have been instagramming up a storm.

4. Ensure that running and yoga are not ignored due to my professional life. Success. At least the running part. I’ve run more miles this year than any other, frequently before work or after a long day. Work is no longer an excuse.

5. Reduce my NYRR bib time to less than 8min/mile. Check. I did this back in February at the Gridiron 4M race and it’s now 7:47 min/mile.

6. Run a sub 1:50 half marathon. Yikes. Mega-fail. I tried to do this at Brooklyn in May and the wheels came off. Definitely in the works for 2013.

7. Run with friends. Major check. I’ve made more runner friends this year, as well as having more friends who run as well. Double win, especially at making early morning and long runs bearable.

8. Run injury free. Yup. Done. Long may this continue.

9. Eat more fruit and veg. Meh. I sort of tried, but must do better.

10. Cook a real meal at least twice a month. Ha! I am pretty sure I totally failed on this. Seriously. How did I manage to fail at this, but I think I did. Hanging my head in shame.

Soooo, with that epic record of failure, what do I plan to do for 2013? Well, a little bit different, but a lot of more of the same.

1. Run a sub-4 marathon. Dear god, please, please, please, so I can stop stalking Marathon Guide.

2. Run injury free. As above.

3. Weight train more regularly. I’ve joined the Refine Challenge, along with Ashley and Laura, and much as a class makes me want to throw up and today I actually saw spots on the wall during my last circuit, it will make my running stronger and maybe I’ll eventually get arms strong enough to chataranga with good form rather than collapse into a heap on my mat.

Running buddies are always welcome, especially for last minute road trips

Running buddies are always welcome, especially for last minute road trips

4. Continue to run with friends. It’s fun.

5. Energize the blog. I have a couple of changes I’d like to make here, and a couple of regularly occurring posts to make.

This looks amazing, but nutella is not a food group. Even with strawberries.

This looks amazing, but nutella is not a food group. Even with strawberries.

6. Eat so much better. Less sugar. More whole grain and veg. I’ve received some good cookbooks for Christmas that I want to try out. My biggest challenge is eating late at night, as in how to eat at 8.30pm in a healthy way. I’ll try to write about what I find out, but let’s be honest, I’m not going to be a healthy living blogger. And that is more than ok with me.

Have you made goals for the year? Or ignoring the whole thing as a waste of time because you are already AWESOME?

 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Emilia @ Run for Your Life / Jan 2 2013 5:45 pm

    I’m pretty good about eating fruits, but veggies are forever a work in progress.
    Running goal: marathon PR. By the time I finally get to run another marathon, it will have been a year and a half since I’ve ran one thanks to being sidelined by injuries in the second half of 2012.

    Come visit me in Houston for one of your PR goals! Just don’t do it in the summer…

    • fionarwbl / Jan 2 2013 7:22 pm

      I think I should!! I love fruit and am constantly eating berries, but actively picking squash and kale? not so much…

  2. Jess / Jan 3 2013 3:16 am

    It you are running 7:47’s I’m sure you can go sub 4! Good luck!

  3. Stephanie / Jan 3 2013 7:38 pm

    I think we are both AWESOME but some goals will certainly get us out for those 6:30 am runs. 😉 And I am sending you a Kale/Squash recipe that will rock your world!

    • fionarwbl / Jan 3 2013 8:26 pm

      That recipe looks amazing. I went to Northern Spy with Zakatie before Christmas and it was amazing!

Leave a Reply

