Skip to content
January 8, 2013 / fionarwbl

My first pV Body Package Review

I came across pV Body through Dori a few weeks ago, and figured it would be a fun way of trying out some new workout brands. I have a soft spot for subscription services, because I definitely have the habit of sticking to what I know and trust, so these are great for letting me try out something a little cheaper. It costs $49 / month for an outfit, but you can get a 20% discount clicking on this link. You complete a quiz on what sort of workouts you do, styles you prefer, and color schemes, and based on that, pV Body puts together something that meets your requirements.

In my first package I received a black gym/yoga top from Nux, and a pair of gray leggings from American Apparel. I had not heard of Nux, so I looked up their website to find out a little more. They are a yoga / athletic brand where all manufacturing is done in the USA. They break down their clothing based on how much compression is used. I received their Betty Tank in black. It is a low support tank with a t-back which was great for movement. My main issue with tops is that sometimes they pull on my neck, but I wore this for about 4 hours, and it was extremely comfortable. I did think it was extremely tight fitting, and was pretty unforgiving to any imperfections! The black fabric had some sort of textured pattern on it which was pretty cool and elevated it from being a bland black top to something much pretty. This did not photograph at all well. It was pretty flattering on my shoulders though. Also, can you believe it, but I don’t have any black tops? So this fitted pretty well into my wardrobe!

working on my tree pose

working on my tree pose

I have to admit that I was a little disappointed to receive the American Apparel leggings. I had previously worn American Apparel leggings to yoga when I first started, and the knees wore out and became baggy, but worse, I sweated through them which made me feel extremely uncomfortable. So, I had low expectations. However, these were actually awesome. They were from their Performance Sportswear line, and the material is a mix of Nylon Spandex mix. They had a wide waistband with a secret pocket. Basically, they were like Lululemon Wunder Unders, but about an inch shorter in length. I wore them to yoga with the Nux top, and they passed the sweat test, were fun to move it, and were pretty flattering. Success!

The retail price of the Nux top is $49, and the leggings are $32, so overall cost is $80, but I only paid $40, so that is a pretty good deal.

There were a couple of things I also want to bring upon on the pVBody experience – the packaging was cute and durable in a hot pink bubble wrap envelope. However, there was no information at all about the brands in question, which was a bit of a wasted opportunity. I did think that what I received was pretty weird since I identified myself as a runner, and these were more suitable for a gym girl. I do yoga, so I’m cool with that, but it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. I’ll look forward to receiving my next package.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Jan 8 2013 3:29 pm

    The outfit looks great on you! It is interesting that they sent you more yoga-y clothing than running though… hopefully as more people sign up the variety improves!

  2. Megan@ Run Like a Grl / Jan 11 2013 8:31 pm

    Nice outfit and it actually ends up being a great deal! Waiting to try an outfit myself so we’ll see if its more runner-esque since I don’t even do yoga!

Leave a Reply

