Skip to content
January 14, 2013 / fionarwbl

Weekly Round Up and NYCRUNS Central Park 10 Miler Race Recap

You know how some days you just wake up in a bad mood. That is me today. Beware! I didn’t sleep well, I am coughing, and my throat is raw. Fun times. I slept past my run o’clock alarm, but it didn’t help that much. I’m debating an easy run at lunchtime to clear my head.

Last week was a great week for taking advantage of free workouts across the city. Having a flexible schedule is really working for me. Too bad it’s only for one more week, and then I’m back to the grind.

Monday: Easy 6m in the morning with Shaya. Felt a lot harder than the 8:50 pace we were running. I guess we had tired legs. In the evening we went to the Lincoln Center Lululemon Run Club with Steph, where we did 400s (I had never done them before) and had a ton of fun. Another 5 miles of random pace.

Tuesday: Refine in the morning. Tough workout as ever, but definitely feel myself getting stronger. Free spin class at Soul Cycle at lunchtime. Ohmigod I hated this so much. Soul Cycle is too much of a cult for me. Disco lights? Seriously? I mean, I’ll go if it is free, but otherwise, no thanks.

Wednesday: Hot Yoga Lunchtime class. Awesome class. The instructor was very hands-on and gave my half moon this amazing correction that made me feel like I was flying.

Thursday: Disastrous speedwork session. Blaming the amazing but super spicy food from Mission Chinese the night before, and that I had dressed poorly so was freezing. 45 degrees is not thin long sleeve weather, it turns out. Managed 2 mile repeats at 7:25 pace before quitting on the third. Went to Refine in the evening – only four people in the class but good energy.

Friday:  REST DAY!!!

Saturday: Long run fail. Was planning to run 18, but then remembered I had to pick my my bib from the UES so had to run over there. Was in a bad mood and didn’t want to be running alone. This American Life did not provide adequate company. Oh, and for the second time this week I was cold. Ended up with 10 miles at 8:51. Went to Flywheel for a free class in the afternoon with my husband and Steph and Loren – fairly decent class, and actually fun to work out with Ori 🙂

Sunday: Central Park 10 Mile Race with NYC RUNS, nap, and Slow Flow Yoga to ease up my angry, tight calves.

Total Miles: 35

Total Strength: 2

Total Yoga: 2

Total Spin: 2

The Central Park 10 Mile Race was my first 10 mile race (automatic PR!) and my second race with NYC RUNS. NYC RUNS overall put on a great race, but I absolutely hated the packet pickup for this race – everyone was either supposed to have the bib mailed to them, or pick it up from the Running Company on 3rd Ave. For a start, the East 60s are not easy to get to – it’s not like it’s Union Square, where every train goes to. Secondly, there was only a 3hr window for pick up, so that was frustrating. Apparently I was not the only one to think this, because although there was not supposed to be bib pick up at the race, there was. This was sort of doublingly frustrating, because I felt I could have got 1.5hrs of my Saturday back if I had known that. Also, Steph opted for her bib to be mailed to her, and it hadn’t shown up by Saturday.

 

Courtesy of Erica. I need to fix my shoulders when I run.

Courtesy of Erica. I need to fix my shoulders when I run.

Having said that, the race itself was fun. The race was small enough to not close the loop to other runners, so for the first couple of miles it was a little congested, but of course it cleared out. I was running with Lora and Ashley, and we picked up Jess and Abby along the way. We also saw Rebecca, Meggie, Steph, and Jocelyn as well. Quite the social race! I had had great plans to actually race, but of course I didn’t – why race when you can chit-chat? Oh wait, not the running spirit? To be honest, the 8:30 pace we were holding felt tough enough. I’m definitely not in the race shape I’d like to be in, and the thought of holding a pace close to that for 26.2 miles is very scary. Having a couple of people to run with was a lot of fun, even if we complained about everything the whole time (the weather, being too hot, being too cold, having to run another loop, being tired, being hungry, running long – you named it, we hated on it) – gotta love the negativity that pushes you forward. Really, that sounds terrible, but we were laughing the whole time, and it was a ton of fun. The last 100 yards was up an incline, so of course Ashley and Lora killed me on the finish. I finished in 1:25:45, or 8:35 pace. The finish line food was awesome – grapes, bagels and hot chocolate. Afterwards we hung out with Erica, who took these awesome photos, and headed for a multi Bloody Mary brunch at Lanskys.  And then I went home and passed out. Rock n roll.

 

How was your weekend? Run any races? Set a PR in napping?

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Jan 14 2013 5:28 pm

    Seriously, you are the most hardcore at working out. Very impressed!

    • fionarwbl / Jan 14 2013 5:28 pm

      Only because I’m playing catchup from all the time I took off to just run!

  2. Jess / Jan 15 2013 3:41 am

    35 miles is a very solid week…are you training for something longer now? What’s next?

    • fionarwbl / Jan 15 2013 1:32 pm

      I’m hoping to run a marathon in the next couple of months so keeping in shape!

  3. Jen / Jan 15 2013 7:32 am

    Great workouts! I’m so looking forward to getting back to NYC and getting back in my workout groove. Hopefully we can run together when I’m back! It’s so funny how running with someone, even if you’re complaining the whole time, makes the distance seem so much shorter 🙂

  4. Jess / Jan 21 2013 9:23 pm

    Great job on the 10 miler! I also just saw your post about PV Body. I just tried it myself courtesy of Dori’s Shiny blog, but I heard it’s going to be changing??? That’s too bad.

  5. Happy Fit Mama (@happyfitmama) / Feb 9 2013 1:09 am

    Don’t you love when yoga teachers give adjustments?

    Great week of running!

Leave a Reply

