Skip to content
March 22, 2013 / fionarwbl

Too Cold and Still Running

I guess I should really get into the habit of this blog posting thing, huh?

 

Main news is not so much news as sentiment. I am majorly crushing on running right now. Ok, so that crush doesn’t extend between me waking up early and running in the cold, because this week I have failed spectacularly at that. But it does extend to coming home from work and heading out at 9.15pm for some tempo miles. Yes, you read that right. I’m pretty my husband hates me.

 

Image

hello consistency!

I’ve run a tempo workout and a speed workout this week, and tonight I’m running some easy miles ahead of tomorrow half marathon plus some. I’m running the 13.1 All State Half Marathon in Queens tomorrow with Ashley. It’s particularly awesome because I won my race entry! I haven’t won anything since my trip to London to see Jason Donavon in Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat back when I was 11. I’m not actually racing this race, after my amazing return to the half-marathon last weekend. Instead, we’ll just have a very well supported long run.

Image

This is too cold for 37F

 

It has been freezing out every night that I’ve been running by the river, and I’m pretty sure that this is a factor in me running faster. That, or I keep dressing as if it is March, when the weather is very much in January. Let’s just say there has been plenty of running and not a lot of sweating. Hey, if it’s giving me consistent sub 7s on my 1k repeats, I’m happy with it. Actually, I’m not, but I’m happy for the 40 minutes that I’m running intervals. The rest of the time? Most definitely not happy. Check out these last 3k intervals for consistency J

 

Hope everyone has a great weekend, and runs happy, hard, and free! 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen / Mar 22 2013 8:52 pm

    It is SO cold and I am SO ready for a bit of warmth. Of course, I’ll be complaining about the humidity soon enough. But if it’s going to be a hot summer, we should at least get a nice spring, right? /self-pity.

  2. artificiallybalanced / Mar 25 2013 3:21 pm

    What app is that??

    • fionarwbl / Mar 25 2013 5:30 pm

      It’s called iSmoothRun. I’ll post about it soon!

Leave a Reply

