Skip to content
March 25, 2013 / fionarwbl

Training Recap: March 18th to 24th

Now I’m back in training, I get to do weekly training posts – yay! I actually love reading these posts because I love getting insights to what sort of workouts people do and how they are feeling.

Overall, I’m mostly cold. I’m completely incapable of getting out of bed in the morning to run in sub-32 temperatures, but I don’t have a gym membership either. I’ve never looked so longingly at other people’s treadmill instagram shots in my life. All my mid-week runs have been at night, when the temperature transition is not so alarming.

Monday: Rest. Was supposed to be 35 mins but my legs were tired from the Rock N Roll PR and then the 234 miles of walking around DC.

I wore this tempo run and froze. Always winter, never spring.

I wore this tempo run and froze. Always winter, never spring.

Tuesday:  Tempo: 10min warm up, 3M at half marathon pace, 10 min cooldown. Ended up running my 3 tempo miles at 8:05, which was faster than my HMP the previous weekend. Oops, I guess. Felt pretty good to turn my legs over.

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: Speed: 10 min warm up, 5x 1k repeats with 1 min rest, 10min cool down. Ran my repeats in 7:35, 7:53, 7:29, 7:29, 7:31. I had a little trouble pacing these as I was running on feel with no Garmin to give me feedback on pace. Was worried I was going to burn out so slowed my second one down. Thought that this workout might make me die but actually enjoyed it. Maybe I can go faster?

Friday: Rest. Yes, lots of rest this week. More than I would like.

Saturday: Long run with Ashley doing the 13.1 All State New York race. Super windy, weird and winding course. 16 miles at 9:07 pace. Not pretty, not dying either. 16 miles seems a comfortable distance, but know that I’m going to have to get to 18 and 20s soon. Yikes. Yes, I’m worrying about stuff that’s not happening yet. Sensible.

Sunday: Refine and Yoga. Refine was obviously a sweaty killer bitch of a workout, not helped by the multiple G&Ts I’d had the night before. Pounding headache all the way through class. Did some lunge jumps that were just weird, jumpbacks which are always killer, but no pushups. Yoga felt awesome. By the end of class I could almost straighten my leg in a downward dog. Almost.

 

This week my mum is in town from Friday to Monday, so I’m trying to get all my runs in before she arrives. Which will mean a long run before work on Friday. My favorite.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen / Mar 25 2013 11:42 pm

    I love reading these posts, too. You totally kicked training ass last week! Will I potentially see you at Refine this week? I’m going Friday and Saturday mornings 🙂

    • fionarwbl / Mar 26 2013 2:58 pm

      Thanks! I actually missed a run, but the ones I got in were quality. I am probably going to Refine mid-week because my mum is coming in from Ireland this weekend so I won’t be working out at all.

Leave a Reply

