Skip to content
April 3, 2013 / fionarwbl

Answering My Most Frequently Asked Question

By far the most frequently asked question I receive is “what running app do you use?”. Although I have a Garmin, I rarely use it for training runs. Instead I am religious about using my favored running app, which is iSmoothRun. For an app, it’s the extremely expensive $4.99. However, it is worth that money and more. Here’s why:

  • It has the most powerful interval training interface I have ever come across. I can program in any combination of workout into the app. You can choose workouts based on time or distance, set particular target paces, repeat a workout multiple times quickly and easily, and build workouts based on multiple components of intervals, tempos, and warmups and cooldowns

A selection of my workouts

  • You can program it to provide voice-overs on whether you are running too fast or too slow, and provide audio feedback on your interval or tempo run performance. It has taught me to run on effort, but getting feedback every five minutes on my pace enables me to adjust to where I should be, without compulsively watching my pace
  • It provides me with a ton of data about my run, including breakdowns of each of my intervals and overall splits

Sample 1k intervals from last week

  • It provided me with fascinating other data about each run, including the temperature, windchill, and fastest song. Haven’t you always wanted to know your fastest song?
No, you are not finding out my weight

No, you are not finding out my weight. My stride length is fair game though

  • It integrates with multiple online run tracking platforms, including DailyMile, Strava, Nike+, GarminConnect, and many more
  • It tracks my shoe mileage. I KNOW!!!
  • You can provide feedback to the app creator, and frequently get a personal email response from the creator, Lambros. I have done this many, many times, and my feedback has been integrated into the app

I bought the app in 2011, and I went through a phase of trying other apps, but nothing comes close to being as well thought out and useful as this one. I cannot believe that it is not more popular, but it really should be. Handsdown, my favorite running accessory.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Apr 3 2013 3:29 pm

    I bought this app from your recommendation almost two years ago! I don’t use it much, but it comes in handy when I do. I don’t know how/haven’t bothered to figure out all the really cool things it does in terms of planning different types of runs, but you made me want to use it more often when I start marathon training this summer!

  2. Shannon M King / Apr 3 2013 10:19 pm

    This app is Amazing…thanks so much for sharing…found you on Facebook Running Bloggers…following you now

    Shannon @ http://runningsurvivor.blogspot.com

  3. Jen / Apr 4 2013 12:33 am

    This app sounds really awesome and I think I’m going to have to download it… especially for the speed functions! Do you know how accurate its tracking is?

  4. Cassie / Apr 4 2013 4:44 pm

    I LOOOVE this app! I have been using it for about a year now and I want a Garmin but I don’t know if I can every give up my ismoothrun! After I finish up working on increasing mileage for my first half I intend to work on speed so I will really have to sit down and figure out the workout/interval section of the app.

    Found you on running bloggers.
    channellingmyinnerrunner.blogspot.com

    • fionarwbl / Apr 4 2013 5:23 pm

      Yay! A fellow fan!! I have a Garmin but I hardly ever use it. The only time I do is during races when I want to be able to glance at my watch. Other than that it stays at home.

  5. iSmoothRun (@iSmoothRun) / Apr 4 2013 6:00 pm

    Thanks for the review Fiona.
    I see high cadence, fast pace and great music selection 🙂
    My users are just awesome!

    btw MapMyRun support comes next week…

    • fionarwbl / Apr 4 2013 6:23 pm

      Even more reason to love iSmoothRun!

  6. 50by25laura / Apr 4 2013 7:38 pm

    This looks awesome! Just wish they had it for Android 😦

  7. Theodora / Apr 6 2013 9:00 pm

    I’m so glad I downloaded this after the DC Half!

Leave a Reply

