Skip to content
June 3, 2013 / fionarwbl

The Best Thing About A Recovery is Planning a Comeback

First up, I am pretty much completely reconciled with my Vermont marathon time. There are so many good things to take away from that race that I cannot honestly keep being upset about it.

  1. The course was fun, fast, and filled with people
  2. For the most part, I ran well, and was pleased with my body
  3. #sub4ordie is in the bag

So, what’s next? Because, you know, that’s what you do when faced with a long stretch of nothing.

Even though marathons are cruel, brutal beasts, it seems that I can’t quite quit them yet. I’d actually signed up for #5 even before completing Vermont. I’ll be toeing the line at the Wineglass Marathon on October 6th, along with lots of my running besties.

In the immediate future, I’ll be running the NYRR Oakley Mini 10k on Saturday. I have a love-hate relationship with this race: love the energy, the crowd, the start along Central Park West, the community of lady runners. And then about 1.5 miles in I hate-hate-hate the race itself, usually because it is so disgustingly humid. Maybe this year will be different – ha!

I then have nothing in the schedule until the Rock N Rock Philly Half Marathon in September, and either the Army 10-Miler or the Nike Women’s Half in San Francisco on October 20th.

vermontcity2

There are a couple of things missing:

1. Short races. Some 5ks would be fun. I’d like to try and do a couple of the Prospect Park or Riverside Park 5k series if work allows this year.

2. Another relay. Team Call Me Ishmael are in talks to get back together for a reunion. Now we just have to find a suitable time and location.

3. Anything in July or August. Yes, I know, they are race hell in terms of weather. But I wanna pin a bib on, ok?

 

Do you feel a need to fill an empty calendar with race registrations? Any suggestions for races in July or August?

Leave a Reply

