Skip to content
June 5, 2013 / fionarwbl

Running Skirts for the Mini 10k

I admit that I am a late adopter when it comes to running skirts. For at least the first two years of running, I shunned and scored them. I thought that real runners didn’t wear skirts. But, like most things that I passionately hate, I had a complete 180 on them, and now love the opportunity to get some breezy skirt action. Other things I’ve changed my mind on, by the way, include avocado, eggs, and e-readers. But not Coldplay and spinach (still passionately dislike).

There’s just something about a skirt that feels slightly rebellious and transgressive: breaking a randomly defined run boundary set arbitrarily in place. It’s amazing to think that 30 years ago women were not allowed to run long distances and had to register as men, and today women make up over 50% of race registrants. In the advent of Lean In and Not Having It All, this has definitely been a year when talking about what it is to be a working woman today, and the Mini 10k reminds me of how far we’ve come in such a short time. That, for me, will always make it an emotional race, and for some reason, I’ll always wear a skirt to underscore my lady running self. In case you want to join in, here’s some of my favorites, and a couple I’d definitely wear.

 

runningskirts

 

1. Moving Comfort Women’s Sprint Tech Skort – love the colors. Last year I got the Moving Comfort Momentum shorts and I love them; I would love to get this skort as well. Particularly digging the contrast shorts underneath!

2. Lululemon Pacesetter Skirt – the Pacesetter skirt was the first running skirt that I ever bought. The pleats add a nice breezy kick to your run. Love.

3. City Sports Running Skirt – I saw this skirt at the Vermont City Expo (while it was 40 and raining) and still thought that it looked awesome. The laser cut detailing makes it a little different from your regular skirt

4. Nike Rival Running Skirt – my current favorite! I wore this at Big Sur and it was super comfortable, and had a decently sized pocket for stashing my phone and some gels. Oh, and again with the rockin’ contrast shorts.

5. Brooks Infiniti Skirt – Brooks make some of my favorite gear, and this skirt is cut but a little refined. A gateway skirt, if you like 🙂

How do you feel about running skirts? Love, or absolutely loathe? Are you running the Mini 10k this weekend?

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Jun 5 2013 1:15 pm

    I have two running skirts and I love them! So comfy and flattering. I ran the Mini 10K twice before. It’s such a good race! Not this weekend, I’ll be a little busy getting married.

    • fionarwbl / Jun 5 2013 1:25 pm

      Priorities!!!! So excited for you this weekend – cannot wait to see pictures 🙂

  2. Jen @ Jens Best Life / Jun 5 2013 1:18 pm

    I’ve never worn a running skirt but these are all SO cute and now I want one. Not running the Mini 10K but maybe I need a skirt to cheer for it… hmmm….

    • fionarwbl / Jun 5 2013 1:26 pm

      I was completely opposed to them, and now I’m a complete convert. Definitely required for cheering 🙂

  3. Julianne Staino (@JulianneStaino) / Jun 5 2013 2:17 pm

    LOVE running skirts! So comfy plus they make race photos a bit cuter (minus the “I’m dying” face)!

    • fionarwbl / Jun 5 2013 2:19 pm

      There is no fix for the “I’m dying” face!

Leave a Reply

