Skip to content
January 7, 2013 / Fiona

Weekly Round Up: I Am Liking This No Work Thing

I haven’t been working this week, so I’ve had an awesome time catching up on all the random tasks that you always promise yourself that you’ll do but never do (sort out the piles of paperwork accumulated in random places, complete my mandatory work training, blah blah blah…), and making workout dates with friends. Life is so much more fun when work obligations are removed! I’ll start on something this week I’m sure, and then it will be the usual sleep-deprived, weekend warrior schedule. I’m enjoying it while I can!

Workouts:

Monday: Nothing. Woke up at 4am  UK time, and flew back to New York. Arrived at 3:15, didn’t get home until 5.30pm, and bed by 8:30. Yes, I slept through New Year’s Eve, and I’m okay with that.

Tuesday: 5.5 mile tempo run, with 4 miles at 7:50, followed by a Refine class with Ashley and Laura as part of the Refine Challenge. Tempo run was mostly strong, with a bit of suffer and fade in the last mile; Refine nearly made me pass out (as usual).

Wednesday: spin at Flywheel, which was an awesome start to the day, and lunchtime hot yoga at Pure.

Thursday:  7.5 mile interval run, with 8x800s at average 3:41 time. Last one was miserable, but overall strong. Damn windy on the West Side Highway – wind chill was 20F! Took a very easy Slow Flow Yoga class in the evening.

Friday: Morning Hot Power Yoga with a work colleague. Arms died during the first chataranga, but my balance poses like half moon were actually okay rather than me falling over and taking several innocent yogis with me.

Saturday: 18 mile run with Shaya, Steph, and Jocelyn. Awesome run, apart from needing the bathroom for most of the run, and finally really needing it at mile 16. Too much info? Yeah, whatever … Loved catching up with everyone while we overheated running around the West Side Highway and up the East River. Of course we all thought we would freeze, and were wearing three layers… Big mistake. My tank top was completely soaked by the time I got home. Running with friends distracted me from the monstrous distance, and I only have 4 miles left to run on my own by the time I left Steph. Also, even though I needed the bathroom towards the end, I was proud of myself for keeping going for the last 2 miles, rather than calling it quits there. I may have recovered with a pear hard cider and Nutella bagel. Maybe.

Sunday: Refine with Ashley, Dori, and Missy. Holy bejesus, this class was evil. We were doing “challenge weight” lunges which nearly had me fall over, planks which seemed to last forever, and it turns out that my right bicep is a lot stronger than my left. I literally had to picked off the mat at the end. We recovered with bloody marys and brunch. Took another Slow Flow yoga class in the afternoon, where I discovered that my hips are sooooore.

Weekly totals: 31 miles, 2 Refine classes, 4 yoga classes, 1 spin class.

I did find a couple of other awesome things online this week to share:

 

Who doesn't want a hot pink breakfast?

Who doesn’t want a hot pink breakfast?

  1. This delicious breakfast muesli from the Bon Appetit Food Lover’s Cleanse. I think that this what we call bircher muesli. I’m making it right now for eating tomorrow morning
  2. Sarah’s amazing training spreadsheet for all the Type A runners out there
  3. This Sweet Potato, Kale and Black Eyed Pea Salad recipe from nHerShoes looks delicious

    No words. Just love.

    No words. Just love.

  4. This ridiculously gorgeous love ring. If only it wasn’t $900…

Did you guys have a good weekend? Break all your resolutions already and finished a box of cookies? Because I would wholeheartedly approve of that…

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dori / Jan 7 2013 3:02 pm

    Your workout week is INSANE. You are so strong to be able to do so much, I can’t imagine moving at all after yesterday’s Refine!

    • fionarwbl / Jan 7 2013 3:47 pm

      I ran this morning with a friend and was cursing myself the whole time. Need. A. Rest.

      Not crazy sore after yesterday’s Refine, but I can definitely feel it.

  2. 50by25laura / Jan 7 2013 5:55 pm

    Interesting that your right bicep is stronger – are you a righty or a lefty? I am a righty but my left arm is always stronger. I think isolating with two cable pulleys at Refine (instead of using both hands with a barbell like I normally do) will hopefully help me even out.

    Today my butt is sore, but NOTHING like the quad-waddle I was doing last week.

    • fionarwbl / Jan 7 2013 8:35 pm

      I completely sympathize with the quad-waddle – that was me a few weeks ago and it was debilitating. It almost made me never want to go back again. Somehow peer pressure made me get back on the mat. I’m a total right-y, and you can tell. Brynn suggested having different cables on the pulleys while working on my left bicep strength.

      • 50by25laura / Jan 7 2013 8:37 pm

        I am so backwards – a righty with a strong left arm! I feel like I should maybe keep them the same so my right arm catches up and isn’t always weaker. Maybe I’ll ask Brynn next class…

  3. Jen / Jan 8 2013 5:33 am

    Great week of workouts!! That muesli looks amazing. I was at home with my family for New Year’s Eve and went to bed right after midnight. And yes, it was lovely!

  4. Laney (@lanes0220) / Jan 8 2013 3:55 pm

    I’m really jealous of this week. Especially spinning and the hot yoga. I need to get those back in my life.

Leave a comment